09:18 AM

Jackson EMC Honors Area Homebuilders with Right Choice Awards

Jackson EMC recently honored local homebuilders with awards for constructing new homes to the cooperative’s Right Choice standards for energy efficiency and comfort.

Right Choice homes are built exclusively in Jackson EMC’s service area. To earn the Right Choice designation, homebuilders must meet higher standards for energy efficient new homes. 

“Jackson EMC works closely with homebuilders to ensure they’re meeting the important efficiency standards of the Right Choice new home program from the design phase all the way through performance testing and completion of construction,” said Nelson McGinnis, Jackson EMC’s manager of residential new development. “We’re proud to honor the builders who excel in our Right Choice program.”

Each year, Jackson EMC recognizes homebuilders with best-in-class awards and several Community Spotlight awards in each of four categories based on the number of Right Choice homes completed in a year:

  • The diamond class category includes companies that have built more than 100 Right Choice homes during the year.
  • Platinum class awards honor companies that build 26-99 Right Choice homes during the year.
  • Gold class awards recognize builders who built fewer than 26 Right Choice homes during the year.
  • The multi-family class honors builders who have built apartment projects of any size using Right Choice’s energy-efficiency standards.

The following list of winners includes the location where they are currently building Right Choice homes. 

The Builder of the Year award recognizes the effort and excellence of a company and its team. Builder of the Year awards went to:

  • Paran Homes (Gwinnett and Jackson counties), diamond class;
  • Richardson Housing Group (Gwinnett County), platinum class;
  • Sterling Residential (Jackson County), gold class;
  • Oxford Properties (Gwinnett County), multi-family class.

The Leadership Award recognizes a builder’s or superintendent’s individual efforts. The Leadership Awards went to:

  • Brian Scheessele, Paran Homes (Gwinnett and Jackson counties), diamond class;
  • Ryan Brown, Southern Heritage Homes (Jackson County), platinum class;
  • Ryan Rudolph, Sterling Residential (Jackson County), gold class;
  • James Brenowitz, Oxford Properties (Gwinnett County), multi-family class.

The Community Spotlight Award honors Right Choice builders whose dedication to energy efficient construction has a tremendous impact on the Jackson EMC community. The Community Spotlight Awards went to:

  • Beltan Properties (Gwinnett and Hall counties);
  • Brand Properties (Gwinnett County);
  • Century Communities (Banks, Gwinnett and Hall counties);
  • Clayton Properties Group, Inc. DBA Chafin Builders (Gwinnett and Hall counties);
  • Creekside Homebuilders Group, LLC (Jackson County);
  • EMC Homes LLC (Hall and Jackson counties);
  • MB Endeavors LLC (Hall and Jackson counties);
  • Oxford Properties LLC (Gwinnett County);
  • Paran Homes (Gwinnett and Jackson counties);
  • Pedcor Companies (Gwinnett County);
  • Pulte Group (Gwinnett and Hall counties);
  • Richardson Housing Group (Gwinnett County);
  • Smith Douglas Homes (Barrow County);
  • Southern Heritage Homes (Jackson County);
  • Southernwood Homes (Hall and Jackson counties);
  • Summit Contracting Group (Hall County);
  • TBG Residential (Barrow County)

For more information about Jackson EMC’s Right Choice new home program, visit jacksonemc.com/rightchoice.

Jackson Electric Membership Corporation, the largest electric cooperative in Georgia and one of the largest in the nation, is headquartered 50 miles northeast of Atlanta in Jefferson, Ga. The cooperative serves more than 260,000 meters on 15,000 miles of energized wire. For more information, visit jacksonemc.com.