10:20 AM

Local College Students Earn $1,000 Scholarships

Makenzie Clark and Samuel Esowhode are two of 14 students who will receive a $1,000 Walter Harrison Scholarship, sponsored by electric cooperatives in Georgia.   

Makenzie Clark of Jefferson, and Samuel Esowhode  of Lawrenceville, were nominated by Jackson EMC, and competed with 78 other students across Georgia for a $1,000 scholarship for students enrolled in a two- or four-year university, college or vocational-technical school in Georgia.   

Clark, who developed a passion for veterinary medicine as a work-based learning student at Jefferson High School, is a current freshman at Gwinnett Technical College pursuing an associate degree in veterinary technology. “The veterinary field is rapidly expanding, but there is a shortage of veterinary techs,” said Clark. “This scholarship enables me to advance my studies and  positively affect  the well-care of all animals.” 

Esowhode graduated from Central Gwinnett High School in 2021 and is a freshman at Georgia Southern University studying mechanical engineering. “I want to be the Robert H. Goddard (credited with creating and building the world’s first liquid-fueled rocket) of the aerospace engineering effort that rejuvenates our nation’s aerospace program and completes the first human mission to Mars,” said Esowhode. 

Applicants were required to submit a brief essay explaining why they would be good candidates to receive the scholarship and outlining their educational and career goals and any special circumstances for consideration. Students could use this opportunity to highlight community involvement or a desire to serve others. School performance, grade point average, scholastic honors, extracurricular activities, and financial need were all considered by the selection committee.  

The scholarship, created in 1985, is named in honor of Walter Harrison, a pioneer in the rural electricity movement and a leader in electric cooperative programs at the local, state and national levels. It is funded by Georgia’s 41 electric cooperatives, including Jackson EMC, the National Rural Electric Cooperative Association and the Georgia Rural Electric Supply Corp. Established in 1985, the Walter Harrison Scholarship Fund has distributed $250,500 to 261 students in Georgia.   

Jackson Electric Membership Corporation, the largest electric cooperative in Georgia and one of the largest in the nation, is headquartered 50 miles northeast of Atlanta in Jefferson, Ga. The cooperative serves more than 246,000 meters on 14,000 miles of energized wire. For more information, visit jacksonemc.com.