00:00 AM

Need to Know: Nominating Committee Appointed

Jackson Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) has corporate offices at 850 Commerce Highway in Jefferson, Ga., with district offices in Gainesville, Lawrenceville, Jefferson and Hull. Jackson EMC is a cooperative providing electric service to 10 northeast Georgia counties – Banks, Barrow, Clarke, Franklin, Gwinnett, Hall, Jackson, Lumpkin, Madison and Oglethorpe.

The cooperative is governed by a nine-member board of directors geographically representing the service area. Board members serve three-year staggered terms. Three will be elected at Annual Meeting, Thursday, September 17, at the corporate offices in Jefferson.

Nominations are presented by a nominating committee or by a duly processed petition.

Procedures detailing the nominations process are contained in the Jackson EMC bylaws available at any office. At each Annual Meeting of Members, three (3) directors shall be elected, by and from the members, to serve for a term of three years, or until their successors shall have been elected and shall have qualified, subject to the provisions of these bylaws with respect to the removal of directors, in the following rotation: one from Hall County or Lumpkin County, one from Barrow County, one from Gwinnett County; one from Clarke County, one from Jackson County, one from Gwinnett County; one from Banks County or Franklin County, one from Jackson County, one from Madison County or Oglethorpe County.

The duly constituted nominating committee for 2015 consists of the following members:

Mrs. Howard McClure, Jr. Maysville, GA • Banks County

Mr. Clay McDaniel Bethlehem, GA • Barrow County

Dr. Lu Penn Athens, GA • Clarke County

Mr. Quillon Butler Auburn, GA • Gwinnett County

Ms. Alicia Williams Braselton, GA • Gwinnett County

Mrs. Sherry Rogers Chestnut Mountain, GA • Hall County

Mr. Tim Booth Jefferson, GA • Jackson County

Mr. E.R. “Ronnie” Healan Athens, GA • Jackson County

Mr. Steve Bates Hull, GA • Madison County